Blogs > Morelli's Musings

Golf coverage

Monday, April 25, 2011

Mahan, Henry coming to Travelers

Travelers Championship officials announced six commitments to this year’s tournament including a pair of past champions, Hunter Mahan and J.J. Henry.
Also announced Monday were Stuart Appleby, Chris DiMarco, Tommy Gainey and John Daly. In addition, the tournament is announcing the launch of its newly enhanced interactive website. The tournament will be held June 23-26 at TPC River Highlands in Cromwell.
Mahan, who won his first PGA Tour event at the Travlers in 2007, is currently 20th in the Official World Golf Rankings. Coming off a strong 2010 campaign where he recorded two more tour wins, Mahan has already had five top-10 finishes this season, his best a runner-up at the AT&T Pebble Beach National Pro-Am.
Henry, the 2006 winner and a Fairfield native, has made 11 straight cuts this season, including six top-25 finishes and one top 10.
Daly is a two-time major championship winner (the 1991 PGA and the 1995 British Open) and a five-time tour winner overall. He missed the cut last year at the Travelers after having not come to the tournament since 2002.
Appleby is a nine-time tour winner, his last victory came in August at The Greenbrier Classic, where he shot a 59 in the final round. DiMarco, a three-time winner on tour will be making his 11th appearance at the Travelers.
Previously announced players includes Bubba Watson, Kenny Perry, Vijay Singh, Anthony Kim, Padraig Harrington, Zach Johnson, Justin Leonard, Lucas Glover and Jhonattan Vegas.



Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home