Blogs > Morelli's Musings

Golf coverage

Wednesday, December 1, 2010

CSGA Hall of Fame inducts three

Current Connecticut State Golf Association Senior Player of the Year Dave Szewczul will be among three people inducted into the Connecticut Golf Hall of Fame next Tuesday at New Haven Country Club. The others are LPGA Tour player Heather Daly-Donofrio past CSGA president Bob Hopkins.
Szewczul used a runner-up finish in the 1975 Connecticut Amateur to New Haven's William Lee to jump-start an amateur career that continues to this day. Szewczul has won seven individual state titles, six four-ball crowns, and most recently a New England championship. 2010 was arguably his best year thus far.
Szewczul began the year with a victory in the Senior Match Play Championship, followed that up with a win in the Connecticut Senior Open and finished the year off with a victory at the New England Senior Amateur. He also advanced to the second round of the U.S. Senior Amateur and won the Connecticut Senior Four-Ball Championship.
Daly-Donofrio, who won two tournaments on the LPGA Tour, played on the Yale women's golf team for four years before graduating cum laude in 1991. She began her professional career on the Futures Tour earning four victories over a three-year span. She graduated to the LPGA Tour in 1998 and over the next 11 seasons won more than $1 million. She coach the Yale women's golf team from 1997-2000.
Daly-Donofrio has also served as president of the LPGA Executive Committee and currently works as director of media relations for the LPGA Tour.
For almost 20 years, all course ratings in southern Connecticut have come from Hopkins. Beginning in the early 1990s, he took over a relatively new course rating system and continues to lead rating teams to this day. Hopkins joined the CSGA Executive Committee and ultimately served as president in 1995-96. He has been a member of numerous committees and associations including the USGA Regional Affairs Committee, the US Senior Golf Association, and Connecticut State Seniors Golf Association.