Blogs > Morelli's Musings

Golf coverage

Wednesday, December 3, 2014

Pace, May, Boyko to enter CSGA Hall of Fame Thursday

Roy Pace, Ted May and Betty Boyko will be inducted into the Connecticut State Golf Association Hall of Fame this evening at Great Neck Country Club in Waterford.

Pace, the former head professional at Wee Burn CC in Darien, played on the PGA Tour from the early 1960s through the early 1970s. He competed in 178 tour events, ending up with 15 top-10 finishes, including a victory at the 1971 Magnolia Classic.

May is entering the Hall for Distinguished Service to the game. He has been involved in virtually every aspect of what is now known as the Travelers Championship golf tournament for four decades and is now the chairman for the First Tee of Connecticut.

Boyko is also entering the Hall for Distinguished Service. She helped start the Southern New England Women’s Golf Association (SNEWGA) in 1956 and the Connecticut Women’s Amateur Championship event in 1966.

Labels: ,

Tuesday, December 2, 2014

Flood elected president of Connecticut Section PGA

William Flood Jr., the head pro at Rock Ridge Country Club in Newtown, was elected the 34th president of the Connecticut Section PGA during the Section's 81st annual fall meeting at Lake of Isles in North Stonington Tuesday night. 

Ian Marshall (Watertown GC) becomes the vice president, succeeding Flood. John Steffin (Twin Hills CC) was elected secretary. Mike O'Grady, the previous president of the Connecticut Section, now will serve on the Section's Board of Directors as its honorary president.

One of O'Grady's final duties as president was to introduce Suzy Whaley, who was elected the secretary for the PGA of America on Nov. 22. She is the first member of the Connecticut Section to be elected as an officer for the national office.