Blogs > Morelli's Musings

Golf coverage

Thursday, May 30, 2013

Simpson, Henry, Cink among latest Travelers committments

Reigning U.S.Open champion Webb Simpson is among the latest group of golfers who have committed to the Travelers Championship in June.
Also returning are former champions Stewart Cink (1997, 2008) and J.J. Henry (2006), along with Carl Pettersson, Nicolas Colaserts and Kyle Stanley.
Simpson is returning to TPC River Highlands in Cromwell for the sixth straight year. His best finish is a tie for 13th place in 2011. Currently ranked 17th in the World Golf Rankings, Simpson hasn't won since last year's Open.
Cink is making his 14th appearance at the Travelers but first since 2010. Cink won the 2009 British Open. Henry, who returns for the 15th time, won his second PGA Tour event last August at the Reno-Tahoe Open.
Pettersson returns for the seventh time. He has five wns on the PGA Tour and is currently 40th in the world rankings. Colaserts, ranked 45th, makes his first appearance at River Highlands.
Stanley, ranked 90th, made his professional debut at the Travelers in 2009. He has returned every year since and has one tour win to his credit.
The Travelers currently has nine players in the top 30 of the world rankings committed to this year's tournament: Justin Rose (4), Lee Westwood (10), Keegan Bradley (13), Ian Poulter (16), Simpson (17), Bubba Watson (18), Jason Dufner (20), Hunter Mahan (22) and Zach Johnson (29).

Whaley named assistant coach at Quinnipiac

Suzy Whaley, the former LPGA Tour pro who now teaches at TPC River Highlands, has been named a volunteer assistant women'a golf coach at Quinnipiac University beginning next season.

Ten years ago, Whaley qualified to play in the Greater Hartford Open at TPC River Highlands. She is a two-time Connecticut Section Teacher of the Year (2004 and 2007) and has received numerous other awards for her teaching credentials.

Wednesday, May 29, 2013

Khang defends CT Women's Open title

Megan Khang shot an even-par round of 72 Wednesday to defend her Connecticut Women’s Open championship by 1 shot at Tumble Brook Country Club.
Khang, a Rockland, Mass., resident, finished with a 36-hole total of 2-under 142. Ashli Bunch of Morristown, Tenn., shot 74 to finish 1 shot behind Khang. Mia Landegren of Bridgewater was third (145).
Jordan Lintz of Milford, the 2011 champion, finished sixth (148) while Liz Caron, the former four-time champion and first-round co-leader with Bunch, skied to an 81 and finished ninth at 150.

(at Tumble Brook CC)
Megan Khang (Rockland, Mass.), 70-72-142; Ashli Bunch (Morristown, Tenn.), 69-74-143; Mia Landegren (Bridgewater), 70-75-145; Brooke Baker (Simpsonville, S.C.), 75-71-146; Sarah Ruth Stone (Rye, N.Y.), 76-71-147; Jordan Lintz (Milford), 76-72-148; Sara Dickson (Greenwich), 78-71-149; Isabelle Lendl (Goshen), 74-75-149; Liz Caron (Greenwich), 69-81-150.

Bilodeau wins Lowell tournament

Kyle Bilodeau continues his hot play and continues to build his lead in the CT Section PGA Player of the Year standings.
Bilodeau, an asisstant pro at Simsbury's Hop Meadow Country Club, won the Walter Lowell PGA Tournament Tuesday on his home course under the modified Stableford system format.
In the four divisions of play, Jim Hanlon, the head pro at The Farms CC, won the Merion Division, Tom Gleeton, the head pro at CC of Waterbury, won the Muirfield Division, Tony Kelley of Wykoff CC won the Oak Hill Division and Mike Devlin (Elmcrest CC), Mark Farrell (Smith Richardson GC) and Joe Finnie (Edgewood GC) all tied atop the Augusta National Division.